top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Listen And Risk

Daily Reading // 2 Samuel 20-24


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

2 Samuel 23:15-16 (NKJV) 15 And David said with longing, “Oh, that someone would give me a drink of the water from the well of Bethlehem, which is by the gate!” 16 So the three mighty men broke through the camp of the Philistines, drew water from the well of Bethlehem that was by the gate, and took it and brought it to David. Nevertheless he would not drink it, but poured it out to the LORD.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


This story is about three of David’s ‘mighty men’. They were called ‘mighty men’ because of their great exploits in battle. They were the toughest of the tough. You did not want to mess with David’s ‘mighty men’.

This passage shows they were not only tough but they were also sensitive to the needs of others and responsive to those needs. David did not ask them to go to the well of Bethlehem. But they had been listening. When they knew his desire they set out to make it happen, even at their own peril.

They didn’t have to be asked. They detected a need and acted on it. These guys were strong and sensitive.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Am I sensitive to needs and wants around me? Do I have to be asked or can I take initiative to act based on my own discernment?


In this example, these men had to listen and they had to risk. As a result, their actions were noteworthy.

I think these are good relationship principles: listen and risk. Do I listen to the significant people in my life? Especially my wife? Do I risk my own comfort, convenience and even safety for others?


Listen to others and risk for others.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, Most of all I want to listen to You and risk for You. What are You saying to me today?

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page