top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

A Prayer That Takes Courage

Daily Reading // Psalm 6-8


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 7:3-5 (NKJV) 3 O LORD my God, if I have done this: If there is iniquity in my hands, 4 If I have repaid evil to him who was at peace with me, Or have plundered my enemy without cause, 5 Let the enemy pursue me and overtake me; Yes, let him trample my life to the earth, And lay my honor in the dust. Selah

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


I like the honesty and the self-inspection of this prayer. Job prayed the same thing, by the way. When accused, instead of addressing his accusers he addresses God directly.


Both Job and David are basically saying, “If I live like a heathen I deserve to be treated like a heathen. If I don’t live for You in truth then there is no reason I should expect my prayers to be answered.”


Notice that David doesn’t get to be the one who decides whether his life and his actions have been right or wrong. Neither does his enemies. God gets to decide. The Righteous Judge of all the earth.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Here’s the big question: Am I willing to pray this prayer? Am I willing to stand by my actions and my motives like David is?


I don’t want to go on living the way I do and expect God to bless me if my life is not pleasing to the Lord. That becomes the only thing that matters.


Many people want to live like hell but get the benefits of heaven.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


God, I know You give me far more than I deserve. That’s the work of Your grace. But I truly want my life to reflect You and please You. Show me areas in my life where change is needed. Amen.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inheritance

March 14, 2024

bottom of page