top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

A Today Obedience

SCRIPTURE:

And Jesus said to them, “Can the friends of the bridegroom mourn as long as the bridegroom is with them? But the days will come when the bridegroom will be taken away from them, and then they will fast.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭9:15‬ ‭NKJV‬‬


OBSERVATION:

The religious leaders were asking about fasting. They fasted. John’s disciples fasted. Why not Jesus’ disciples?

Fasting is mentioned throughout scripture as a meaningful spiritual practice. Why weren’t they fasting?


APPLICATION:

Spiritual obedience is time sensitive. Jesus’ disciples will be fasting, but this is not the time. What was obedience for yesterday may not be obedience for today. I can’t rest on what the Lord told me way back then. I need to hear His voice for today. Routine can be good but it should not take the place of hearing God’s voice today. I want ‘today obedience’, not a yesterday faith.


PRAYER:

Jesus, What are You saying to me today? How can I live for You today? Amen.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page