top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

A Willing Mind

Daily Reading // 2 Corinthians 8:7-12


READY // SILENCE

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

2 Corinthians 8:12 (NKJV) For if there is first a willing mind, [it is] accepted according to what one has, [and] not according to what he does not have.

I am held accountable to:

  • The willingness of my mind, and

  • The use of what I have (not of what I don’t have)


The first thing needed is a willing mind. A mind surrendered to serve and not to be served, as Jesus modeled. Without that nothing else matters.


God is the righteous Judge. Abraham once said to Him, “Shall not the Judge of all the earth do right?” The answer is yes. We can count on that.


So then, what is the basis of His judgment? He looks to my willingness, and to my use of what I have. That includes all God-given resources: gifts, riches, time, kindness, grace, etc.


He doesn’t judge me according to what I do not have. This makes it impossible for me to compare myself with others. We have each been given different gifts and our judgment will be customized.


Here’s what I have to be mindful of: What is my willingness? What do I do with that which God has given me? Everything I have comes from Him. Am I willing to use it for His glory, or keep it for myself?


Oh, and don’t forget grace.


Oh yes, the Judge of all the earth will do what is right.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Lord, I trust You in this life and in the life to come. Amen.

Tomorrow’s reading -> 2 Corinthians 8:13-17

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page