top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Affliction Or Instruction?

Daily Reading // Psalm 119


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 119:67 (NKJV) Before I was afflicted I went astray, But now I keep Your word.
Psalms 119:71 (NKJV) It is good for me that I have been afflicted, That I may learn Your statutes.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


It is wonderful to read Psalm 119. The psalmist finds so many ways to express his great love for God’s word. It is so encouraging to read one after the other.


Even in affliction God’s Word is not only comfort, but it becomes more real and more dear.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


What is it worth to really know God’s Word? What if this were your choice: Either you can choose to live life without affliction or, through affliction, you can know God’s Word more deeply. Which would I choose?


What if affliction is a golden opportunity to know and experience the comfort and truth of God’s Word in a way like no other? Would I choose it?


I think most of us do everything we can to avoid discomfort and affliction. This psalm says don’t miss out on affliction as a classroom for the deep things of God.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Lord, I will take every affliction in my life as a call to You and Your Word. Amen.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page