top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

An Inconvenient Truth

Daily Reading // Luke 2:1-7


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to threw times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.

REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Luke 2:5 (NKJV) to be registered with Mary, his betrothed wife, who was with child.

I keep thinking about the inconvenience of God’s plan. Mary became pregnant while she was engaged. Then a government census was ordered while she was very pregnant. And she gave birth while away from home. These are monumental inconveniences. It all could have been orchestrated much more conveniently for Mary and Joseph.


God is not committed to my convenience.

I have found that convenience is often the greatest obstacle to spiritual breakthrough.


What if God asked me to do something as inconvenient as what Mary and Joseph did? I’m not certain I would have gone through with it.


At the very least I would have questioned Him greatly. “Look, since You’re asking all of this from me, can’t You at least make it more convenient? Can’t You work with me here a little? It feels like You’re even working against me a bit!”


I have had those kind of thoughts in times of serving God. Why can’t He just make this easier? More convenient?


Because God is not committed to my convenience.


How many missions trips haven’t happened because it’s inconvenient? How many Bibles don’t get read, church services don’t get attended, giving opportunities don’t get met, words of encouragement don’t get said, prayers don’t get offered, etc because it’s too inconvenient?

How can I ever hope to stand against persecution or tribulation if I can’t even stand against inconvenience?


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.

Lord, I confess that inconvenience often gets in the way of my obedience to You. I repent. I will serve You when it is convenient and when it isn’t. Amen.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page