top of page
Search
Writer's picturePastor Jim

Be Careful Little Mouth

Daily Reading // Job 27-28


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Job 27:3-4 (NKJV) 3 As long as my breath is in me, And the breath of God in my nostrils, 4 My lips will not speak wickedness, Nor my tongue utter deceit.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


The mouth is a frequent offender. The New Testament book of James affirms the same thing. I make choices everyday about what will come out of my mouth. Is it good or evil? Is it truth or deceit?

Job reestablished his commitment to using the breath given to him by God to speak truth and to use his words for good, not evil.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


So much conflict is created by what is said. As I look around today I see that more clearly than ever.


In our Information Age we have technology to multiple words and to broadcast ideas and opinions more than ever. We should have realized it would also multiply offense and offending, lies and lying, manipulation and manipulating.

It is more important than ever to be watchful of the words I use because now they are magnified and their impact is multiplied.


There is an old Sunday School song and one of the verses is:


Oh be careful little mouth, what you say

Be careful little mouth, what you say

There’s a Father up above

Who is looking down in love

So be careful little mouth what you say


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


This is my prayer:


As long as my breath is in me, And the breath of God in my nostrils, My lips will not speak wickedness, Nor my tongue utter deceit.


Amen.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page