top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Because Of My Foolishness

Daily Reading // Psalm 38:1-22


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Psalms 38:5 (NKJV) My wounds are foul and festering because of my foolishness.

Sometimes the cause of my pain and my trouble is my own foolishness.


I don’t seem to be alone in that experience. David experienced the same thing. In this psalm he even admits it. It’s admitting it that’s unusual.


How much pain and difficulty could I eliminate from my life if I eliminated foolishness? I think foolishness has some intentionality behind it. It is considering a course of action and choosing the one a fool would choose.


A fool:

  • Knows better but does it anyway

  • Should have known better but doesn’t

  • Doesn’t even take the time to consider action or outcome


Foolishness is eliminated by taking the time to know God’s word and actually putting it into practice. You can still experience pain, but it won’t be the pain caused by your own foolishness.


God’s Word says ‘Be honest and don’t lie’. A fool says, ‘I’m sure I can get away with this lie’. Gods Word says, ‘Don’t have sex outside of marriage’. A fool says, ‘Everyone’s doing it. What can it hurt?’. God’s Word says, ‘Love your enemies’. A fool says, ‘I’ll end this argument by really putting him in his place’.


When I lean on my own understanding I find myself in all kinds of difficulty. Direct my path by Your Word and Your Spirit! (Proverbs 3:5-6)


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Father, Thank You for the gift of Your Word. Help me to know it and to live it. Your Word drives foolishness out of my life. Amen!

Tomorrow’s reading -> Sabbath Reflection

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page