top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Beware of Scorn

Daily Reading // Psalm 122-124


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 123:4 (NKJV) Our soul is exceedingly filled With the scorn of those who are at ease, With the contempt of the proud.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


“The scorn of those who are at ease”. That phrase stood out to me today. Those who are at ease should not have scorn. They should be grateful and appreciative and generous.


Often those who have it easy are none of those things. They feel entitled. They should have more. “Those people without deserve just what they get. I’m not going to share mine with them!”


Beware of the scorn of those who are at ease.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Everything I have is a gift from God. Everything: Possessions, health, strength, relationships, advantages, thoughts, dreams, plans. I owe it all to the Father.


Do I let what I have been given cause me to look down on others? That attitude dishonors God and misunderstands His grace.


When I am at ease I have every opportunity to treat others with generosity, not with scorn.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Father, You are so good to me. May I never misuse Your blessing. Amen.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page