top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Blessings in the Night

Daily Reading // Psalm 16:1-11


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Psalm 16:7 I will bless the LORD who has given me counsel; My heart also instructs me in the night seasons.

Night time is no time to forget the Lord. I’ve made it a habit to pray in bed that God would give to me, even while I sleep. When I wake up In the night and can’t get back to sleep, I think about (meditate on) scriptures I have memorized. That way if it is a trick of the devil to steal sleep from me, he loses the battle. It’s a win/win for me. This is another good reason to memorize a few scriptures. Galatians 2:20, 2 Corinthians 5:17 and James 1:5 are good ones to start.


This verse isn’t just talking about literal night seasons, but also difficult and even dark times in life. There’s nothing better than scripture for those times, too.


As a great book from Ron Mehl says, God works the night shift.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Father, Rest is a treasured gift You give to Your children. I receive Your rest, every night and also in times of potential anxiety. I am thankful for Your counsel — Your Word. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> Sabbath Reflection

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Walkaway. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
bottom of page