top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Brutal Honesty

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 1:1-31


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 1:26 (NKJV) For you see your calling, brethren, that not many wise according to the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, [are called.]

Here’s a little dose of brutal honesty from Paul. He says, “God doesn’t call people who are very impressive”. And he is saying it to the very people who God has called. Sometimes we need to be brought down from our need to impress. I am not as impressive as I would like to think.


Years ago, I had computer problems. There must’ve been something wrong with the equipment, because it wasn’t working. I called a friend who was a computer network expert. I described the problem and he said, “It sounds like a PEBKAC”.


That was a new computer term I had never heard before. I said, “A what”? He repeated, A PEBKAC”. I wanted to learn this advanced computer technology, so I asked, “What’s that”? He said, “It’s an acronym. It stands for Problem Exists Between Keyboard And Chair.”


It took me only a minute to put it all together. Then I said, “Hey, wait a minute, that’s me!” “That’s right”, he said.


I’ve got to admit, I’m not as impressive as I would like to think. When I’m having trouble I would like to blame it on other things, but really the problem is me. The good news is that’s just the kind of people that God calls and uses!


I’ve got to get over myself. I’ve got to get over this idea that I need to impress people — or God! A little brutal honesty is good for me, too.

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Jesus, You love me. I don’t have to impress You for Your love. Give me a healthy view of myself. Use me to bring glory to You, not to me. Amen.

Tomorrow’s reading -> 1 Corinthians 1:1-9

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page