top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

“But I Refrain”

Daily Reading // 2 Corinthians 12:1-6


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to threw times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

2 Corinthians 12:6 (NKJV) For though I might desire to boast, I will not be a fool; for I will speak the truth. But I refrain, lest anyone should think of me above what he sees me [to be] or hears from me.

Paul did something here that many people are not able to do. He kept himself from saying what he wanted to say. For some people, this would be a bona fide miracle.


Here’s the process:

  • Paul wanted to say something. In this case it was boasting. Boasting came to his mind and he thought, “Yep - this is what I want to say...”

  • Then he thought, “Is this a wise or foolish thing to say? Does it sound like wisdom or foolishness?”

  • Then he thought, “Is it 100% truth? I only want to speak the truth.”

  • Then he thought, “What will the outcome be? Will it lift Jesus up, or will it lift me up?” What will happen in the mind of the hearers?


Having gone through that whole process Paul refrained himself. I have noticed that many people don’t have this ability.


Do I?


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Jesus, Guard my lips and bring my mouth under submission to You. Amen.

Tomorrow’s reading -> 2 Corinthians 12:7-13

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page