top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Change The Question

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 10:23-33


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.

REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 10:23 (NKJV) All things are lawful for me, but not all things are helpful; all things are lawful for me, but not all things edify.

We have to change the question.

For so many the question is, “What type and how much sin can I do? What can I get away with? How close to the line can I get?” and “Why can’t I do whatever I want?”

Grace seems to cloud the issue even more. “If I’m under grace I can do whatever I want, right?”

Paul flips the question. It’s not about what I can get away with, what is legally allowable or lawful. It’s a whole different consideration. Paul asks, “Is it helpful? Does it edify?” Those are the questions we should be asking.

Not what’s the harm, but what’s the help? If a behavior or activity is not helpful, no matter how pleasurable it may be, Paul says don’t get involved in it. Focus on the helpful things.

Does it edify? Does it build up or tear down? I think Paul is talking about edifying me or edifying others around me. Sinful behavior doesn’t edify, it tears down.


Sin is not an issue of legal rights or permission. God is not enforcing some harsh and restrictive laws. Sin harms, it doesn’t help. Sin tears down, it doesn’t build up. God wants the best for me. Do I want the best for myself?

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Jesus, My Prayer today is what the psalmist prayed: Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting. Amen.

(Psalms 139:23-24 NKJV)


Tomorrow’s reading -> Psalm 33:1-22

11 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page