top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Coach Paul

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 11:1-16


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.

READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.

REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 11:1 (NKJV) Imitate me, just as I also imitate Christ.

I am challenged by Paul’s confidence here. For him to say, ‘Imitate me as I imitate Christ’ shows a lot of confidence.


It’s like a coach who watches his player struggle to perform. Then the coach tries to describe the proper technique and adjustments needed. Still the player struggles to understand the concepts and apply them. Then the coach says, “Watch me”. And he demonstrates the right way to do it.


Sometimes we learn from written instructions and verbal cues. Other times, it’s nice to have a coach.


In fact, this is part of the reason for the incarnation, Jesus coming to earth. He came to model a godly life. He came to show us how it’s done.


Here’s the question: If someone follows my example will it help them or hurt them? Will they learn good habits or bad habits? I want to practice godly living not just for me, but for those who may follow my example.


Is there someone I’m coaching in godly living? It doesn’t have to be a formal coaching situation. Someone may be watching. What would they be observing?


Am I comfortable and confident in saying, ‘Imitate me’?

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Jesus, May my life mirror Your life and be mirrored by others. Amen.

Tomorrow’s reading -> 1 Corinthians 11:17-26

22 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page