top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Consider The Source

Daily Reading // Job 5-6


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Job 5:17 (NKJV) “Behold, happy is the man whom God corrects; Therefore do not despise the chastening of the Almighty.”
Job 42:7 (NKJV) And so it was, after the LORD had spoken these words to Job, that the LORD said to Eliphaz the Temanite, “My wrath is aroused against you and your two friends, for you have not spoken of Me what is right, as My servant Job has.”

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


The book of Job is challenging for many reasons. One reason is you have to keep track of who is speaking. The one who is speaking in chapter five is Eliphaz. He is corrected in the last chapter by God Himself, Who says, “you have not spoken of me what was right.”


So, we can’t read these words in Job as if they are all right, because they’re not.


However, they are not all wrong either. Here Eliphaz says something that is actually very strongly affirmed in the New Testament. Oh no! What do we do?


We have to read Job very carefully. We can’t just accept it all as accurate or throw it all out as inaccurate. We have to: Consider the source, weigh it against scripture and use great discernment.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


The book of Job is great practice for real life. I can’t take everything anyone says as accurate or dismiss everything anyone says as inaccurate. Even people I highly regard can say things that are inaccurate. And, believe it or not, people with whom I disagree can say things that are true.


Oh no! What do I do?


I always have to: Consider the source, weigh it against scripture and use great discernment.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Holy Spirit, I need Your guidance. Lead me into all truth. Keep me from foolish acceptance or dismissal of what I am told. Make me discerning, I pray. Amen.

23 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inheritance

March 14, 2024

bottom of page