top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Console Not Correct

Daily Reading // Job 3-4


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Job 3:1 (NKJV) After this Job opened his mouth and cursed the day of his birth.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


In this early chapter in the book of Job, he begins to open his mouth and express himself to his friends. He has been through some tough stuff. He has endured tragedy after after tragedy and is now in great physical pain. He is hurting.


It’s no surprise that his words here are a bit dark. He is in a very dark place. I think what we’re getting here is not necessarily what he thinks, but what he feels. This is not the systematic theology of Job, but his heart’s cry in his deepest anguish. This is real. This is raw.


Great men and women are real people.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


We all need a place where we can vent. I know I do. I need a safe place and a safe person to pour out my anguish of soul without being theologically careful. Sometimes you just want to say, “This isn’t necessarily what I believe, but this is how I feel...”


These friends of Job didn’t give him that place. Instead of just listening and caring they continually corrected his theology. (And, by the way, they were wrong. Job 42:7)


Have safe people who will listen. Be a safe person who will listen.

P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer

Spirit, Give me discernment to see the hurting people around me. Give me wisdom to console, not correct. Amen.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inheritance

March 14, 2024

bottom of page