top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Contending For My Faith

Daily Reading // Jude 1


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Jude 1:3 (NKJV) Beloved, while I was very diligent to write to you concerning our common salvation, I found it necessary to write to you exhorting you to contend earnestly for the faith which was once for all delivered to the saints.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


Jude talks about two connected but distinct things: salvation and contending earnestly for the faith.


He is talking to those who have received salvation, encouraging them to contend earnestly for the faith.


Salvation is a gift bought and paid for by Jesus on the cross. It’s a done deal and it is none of my doing. No contending required.


Connected yet distinct from salvation is how I live out my faith. It is how my faith affects my life, my actions and my thinking. I always want my faith to be growing. Not because it changes my salvation but because it changes me.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


I wonder what is involved in contending earnestly for the faith.


One thing I think it means is that living a life of faith won’t be easy. It will have to be contended for. I shouldn’t expect it to be easy. A strong, robust faith will take determination on my part.


There may even be opposition. Expect it. Don’t be caught off guard.


My faith can be as strong as I want it to be. I won’t sit back on my secured salvation. I will contend most earnestly for the faith I’ve been given.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, I will seize opportunities today to build up my faith. Amen.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page