top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Daily Concern

Daily Reading // 2 Corinthians 11:22-33


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to threw times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

2 Corinthians 11:28-29 (NKJV) 28 besides the other things, what comes upon me daily: my deep concern for all the churches. 29 Who is weak, and I am not weak? Who is made to stumble, and I do not burn [with indignation?]

The Apostle Paul cared deeply for the people he shared the gospel with and nurtured as a spiritual father.


There’s an old story about the Corsican brothers who can feel each other’s pain. That is just a fictional novel. But Paul says he does bear the concern and pain for the people in the churches he has started.


He cares for these people so deeply that when someone is struggling in their faith, he feels it. When a church is drifting from the truth it weighs heavy on him. When a former ministry partner turns towards false doctrine, Paul takes it very personally.


This isn’t because he is controlling. It’s because of his deep concern. Notice, Paul says this is something he deals with daily.


Paul is exposing an unseen reality of spiritual leadership. It is not just a transactional activity. It is deeply emotional. In true community, pieces of each person become deposited in each other. That’s part of becoming one.


Do I let myself care, like Paul did, for the spiritual condition of others? Do I carry concern for their spiritual well-being on a daily basis? Am I affected when others drift away from serving Jesus?


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Jesus, You care about my spiritual health. You have put others in my life who have cared about my spiritual health. I am grateful. Use me in the lives of others. Amen.

Tomorrow’s reading -> Psalm 44:1-26

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page