top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Don’t Concern Yourself

Daily Reading // Psalm 131-133


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 131:1 (NKJV) A Song of Ascents. Of David. LORD, my heart is not haughty, Nor my eyes lofty. Neither do I concern myself with great matters, Nor with things too profound for me.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


David was a significant part of the history of Israel. He experienced the anointing oil from the horn of Samuel as a young boy. He was sent to his brothers in battle and understood what no one else seemed to get - that God would give victory over the giant Goliath.


As king he made huge decisions regularly that impacted the whole nation. He had been a diplomat and a warrior, an expander and a developer. He wrote legal decrees and psalms of praise.


Yet in all of his accomplishments he kept his heart right. He did not let his heart get haughty. He didn’t think of himself more highly than he should.


He also acknowledged there were matters to great for him and too profound for his understanding. These are words of absolute trust. He has peace and confidence not because he knows and understands everything but because he trusts the One who does.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


I don’t know everything. I don’t have to. I just need to trust the One who does.


There are plenty of things that are too profound for me. I’m going to do all I can to understand what I am able to understand. When I come to the end of the road of my understanding I won’t get frustrated, fearful or try going off-road. That’s where trust takes over.


I know that I am limited in my understanding. That’s okay. The only way I know anything at all about God is that He has chosen to reveal Himself to me. I will take full advantage of all He shows me and trust Him for everything else.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Father, You give understanding to those who put their trust in You. You have made the deepest truths things that children can understand. I receive all You want me to know and trust You with the rest. Amen.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page