top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Don’t Let Defeats Defeat You

Daily Reading // Joshua 6-10


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Joshua 7:7 (NKJV) And Joshua said, “Alas, Lord GOD, why have You brought this people over the Jordan at all--to deliver us into the hand of the Amorites, to destroy us? Oh, that we had been content, and dwelt on the other side of the Jordan!

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


This passage is about dealing with the disobedience of Israel. Because of their disobedience they suffered their first loss. Their winning streak of one in a row was over.


It was definitely a battle they should have won. They took the loss as a sign that the Lord had lifted His favor from them. They imagined never winning again. All was lost. They began wishing they had stayed out of the promised land.


God said to them in essence, “Get up and make some corrections. This setback is not permanent. It is an opportunity for you to adjust some things.”


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Setbacks are not the end of the story. They actually give me an opportunity to 1) Identify missteps; 2) Correct disobedience; 3) Recommit to God’s instruction; 4) Move forward with a greater sense of dependence on God.


Don’t be content staying where you’re not supposed to be to avoid possible correction. That’s what mistakes are for.


Don’t let defeats defeat you.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, You came as Redeemer because I need redemption. I pray along with King David:


Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting. Psalms 139:23-24 (NKJV)

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inheritance

March 14, 2024

bottom of page