top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Enemies

Daily Reading // Psalm 57-59


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 59:1 (NKJV) To the Chief Musician. Set to “Do Not Destroy.” A Michtam of David when Saul sent men, and they watched the house in order to kill him. Deliver me from my enemies, O my God; Defend me from those who rise up against me.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


This psalm was written by David, before he was king. Saul was king at this time and, because of jealousy of David and being threatened by him, Saul was trying to kill him. Saul had become David’s enemy.


Through no fault of his own David had an enemy. And his enemy was the King of Israel.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


It is better not to have enemies. The New Testament says, “As much as it depends on you live peaceably with all men” (Romans 12:18). Most of the time whether I have enemies or not does depend on me.


But not always.


David had enemies. Jesus had enemies. God has enemies.


Ultimately, David’s downfall and the violence against his family was not caused by his enemies but by his own appetites. His adultery with Bathsheba resulted in death and discord within his family. David was his own worst enemy. Many of us are.


  1. Do everything you can to avoid making enemies.

  2. Trust God’s defense from unavoidable enemies.

  3. Don’t be your own worst enemy.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, Reading this today makes me even more grateful that YOU HAVE CALLED ME FRIEND! (John 15:15).

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page