top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Faith Dominion

Daily Reading // 2 Corinthians 1:15-24


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

2 Corinthians 1:24 (NKJV) Not that we have dominion over your faith, but are fellow workers for your joy; for by faith you stand.

The Apostle Paul was used powerfully by God in Corinth. He brought the gospel there as a missionary. He started the church. He lived and ministered among them for 18 months. He wrote detailed letters outlining important doctrine and practices for them.


He had a great deal of spiritual authority given to him from God.


But he made sure to clearly tell each of those in Corinth that he and the ministry team didn’t have dominion over their faith. Each person is responsible for and has dominion over their own faith.


The word for dominion here has as its root the word for ‘lord’. There is one Lord. I need to make sure I don’t transfer the lordship of my faith to anyone else. I can receive spiritual help, input, teaching, encouragement and instruction from spiritual leaders. I still have to prayerfully decide how I will apply their input and take responsibility for my own spiritual growth.


I can’t expect others to make me spiritually strong and I can’t blame them when it doesn’t happen. As a friend of mine says, “You’re as close to God as you want to be.”

No one has dominion over my faith but me and the Lord Jesus Christ.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Jesus, I want want no one, no matter how spiritual they may be, to come between me and You. That’s what You want, too. Where have I given over my spiritual decisions to someone else? Lead me back to You. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> 2 Corinthians 2:1-17

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Walkaway. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
bottom of page