top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Faith-Muscle

Daily Reading // 1 Peter 4-5


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Deuteronomy 15:11 (NKJV) “For the poor will never cease from the land; therefore I command you, saying, ‘You shall open your hand wide to your brother, to your poor and your needy, in your land.’

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


This verse was quoted by Jesus in the gospels when a criticism came of extravagant worship. A critic suggested the cost for the act of worship was too great. It should’ve gone to feed the poor. Jesus said the poor you will always have with you.


The purpose in giving yo the poor isn’t necessarily to eradicate poverty. Giving to the poor demonstrates compassion and is itself an act of worship. Giving is a means to an end. Worship is the end.


The poor are in the land to provide a necessary opportunity for generosity and compassion. It’s all part of the preparation for eternity.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


The poverty of others isn’t an unfortunate circumstance brought about by their own mistakes. It is a way for me to exercise my trust in the Lord.


My faith-muscle is exercised as I open my hand wide to others in need.


How is my faith muscle doing?


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, Remind me my actions toward others are worship to You. Amen.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page