top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Father or Bother?

Daily Reading // Isaiah 22:15-25


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Isaiah 22:21 I will clothe him with your robe And strengthen him with your belt; I will commit your responsibility into his hand. He shall be a father to the inhabitants of Jerusalem And to the house of Judah.

One leader was being removed from office and another was being placed in office — by God Himself. I love the commendation God gives to this new leader: “He will be a father to the inhabitants of Jerusalem.” Leadership isn’t a job, and certainly not one to consider your own needs above the needs of others. Leadership is a relationship, like a father, who cares for his children and puts their needs above his own.


Am I a father or am I a bother to the people I am called to lead?


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Father, You express Your leadership to us as a relationship. You are our Father. And You are a good, good Father. You could dominate us, but You care for us. Thank You for being my Father. Make me like You. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> Isaiah 23:1-18

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page