top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Field, Building, Temple

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 3:1-17


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 3:9 (NKJV) For we are God’s fellow workers; you are God’s field, [you are] God’s building.
1 Corinthians 3:16 (NKJV) Do you not know that you are the temple of God and [that] the Spirit of God dwells in you?

I like the progression of these verses. The rapid promotion: We are God’s field -> God’s building -> God’s temple. There is a sense of movement from one stage of development to another.


God’s field. This speaks of opportunity and potential. A field is a wide open canvas of possibilities. It can become just about anything.


I am God’s field. I am His to develop and use as He wishes.


God’s building. A building adds permanence and stability. A building is a place for living and relationships.

I am God’s building. His workmanship is expressed through me.


God’s temple. Of course, this is a place of worship and sacrifice. A temple focuses attention and activity to God.


I am God’s temple. My life is to be filled with sights, sounds and activities that are a pleasing aroma to Him.

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Father, I gladly live today as Your field, Your building, Your temple. Work in me and through me today. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> 1 Corinthians 3:18-25

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page