top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Follow Through

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 15:12-19


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 15:14 (NKJV) And if Christ is not risen, then our preaching [is] empty and your faith [is] also empty.

I need to follow through on my beliefs.


When I was in little league baseball my coaches would all say the same thing, “You’ve got to follow through”.


When you’re taking batting practice, you’ve got to keep your eye on the ball and take a good swing. Then your bat hits the ball. You’re not done yet. You have to follow through. You’ll never be a good baseball player if you don’t follow through.


I find a lot of people don’t follow through on their beliefs, their ideas. They express a belief but they fail to logically follow that belief to its conclusion. As a result there are inconsistencies.


Paul was telling the Corinthians to follow through. Every doctrinal position has ramifications.


Some accepted Jesus but could not accept a resurrection. It seemed to far fetched. They have to accept the outcome. If there is no resurrection:

  • Jesus hasn’t risen.

  • Preaching and faith are meaningless.

  • Paul is a liar and the Bible is false.

  • We are still in our guilt and sins.

  • All hope is gone for loved ones who have passed away.

  • I have no hope beyond this life.

  • In this life being a Christian without hope of eternity is THE WORST!


I like Paul’s straightforward honesty. I need to be honest with my own beliefs. I can’t pick and choose reality. Every belief has ramifications.


I always need to follow through.

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Lord, I am so grateful for resurrection and eternal life. Because You rose, I will also rise. My greatest hope is beyond this life in eternity with You. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> 1 Corinthians 15:20-34

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page