top of page
Search
Writer's picturePastor Jim

Get Going

Daily Reading // 1 Samuel 16-20


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

1 Samuel 16:1 (NKJV) Now the LORD said to Samuel, “How long will you mourn for Saul, seeing I have rejected him from reigning over Israel? Fill your horn with oil, and go; I am sending you to Jesse the Bethlehemite. For I have provided Myself a king among his sons.”

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


Samuel did everything God told him to do. He was careful. He was cautious. God told him to give the people a king and he gave them a king. God told him to anoint Saul as king so he anointed Saul as king.


Now he regretted it. It looked like a mistake. Did he hear God wrong? What a tragedy! When you’re a prophet serving God you can’t make mistakes! Now what??


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


You can hear God correctly, do all you’re supposed to do, and still get an outcome you don’t like or understand. What’s that all about?


What may feel like a mistake could actually be part of God’s bigger plan. He does things differently than I do.


Like Samuel, it’s okay to mourn a little when things don’t go the way you expect. But then get up and get going. God’s plan isn’t over yet.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, I want Your plan, not mine, to prevail. Give me faith to go on when things don’t go my way. Amen.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page