top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Go Ahead and Boast

Daily Reading // 2 Corinthians 5:12-17


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

2 Corinthians 5:12 (NKJV) For we do not commend ourselves again to you, but give you opportunity to boast on our behalf, that you may have [an answer] for those who boast in appearance and not in heart.

It’s okay to boast.


I take that cue from this verse and a verse I have always liked in the book of Proverbs:

Proverbs 27:2 (NKJV) Let another man praise you, and not your own mouth; A stranger, and not your own lips.

Boasting is really only a problem when you boast about yourself. Boasting about yourself is selfish and self-centered. Boasting about yourself is an attempt to highlight your own credentials and accomplishments. Boasting about yourself exposes pride, the cause of all sorts of sin.


Boasting about yourself is something that Paul always had a very difficult time with. When pushed, he could only boast about his weaknesses and Jesus’ strength (2 Cor 12:9, Gal 6:14).


But boasting is so much fun!


Here’s the solution: Boast about someone else. Not as a form of manipulation or flattery. Not to the point of causing pride in the other person. But there seems to be nothing wrong with pointing out the strength and qualities in others. In fact, I think it is a great thing to do. Boasting about others causes us to think about their contributions. It directs my attention off of myself and onto someone else.

Jesus boasted about the faith of the centurion, and the giving of the poor widow, and the selfless acts of the Good Samaritan (parable). It would do me good to boast, not about myself, but about others.


Husbands, genuine and sincere boasting about your wife is very healthy. (My wife is the absolute best, by the way!)


Paul gives us another great boasting example. He loved to boast about Jesus. When was the last time you boasted about the Lord and all that He has done for you? Give it a try. I often say the job of a preacher is basically just bragging about God. Can there be any easier job than that?

Try it this week. Give sincere words of praise about another with no ulterior motive. You’ll find it does you both good.

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.

Jesus, When I think of all that you’ve done for me my boasting of You takes the form of praise. I consider my life and the wonderful people you have put in it. Help me to boast about others, never myself. Amen!

Tomorrow’s reading -> 2 Corinthians 5:18-21

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page