top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Good News / Bad News

Daily Reading // Isaiah 35:1-10


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Isaiah 35:4 Say to those who are fearful-hearted, "Be strong, do not fear! Behold, your God will come with vengeance, With the recompense of God; He will come and save you."

This verse shows two things. God is gentle and compassionate to those who are needy. He is also ferocious towards those who mistreat others. To the weak He is strong. To the strong He is even stronger.

Like those movies when the rescue army shows up. It’s good news for the ones being rescued, but bad news to to the others.

I’ve got good news and bad news - GOD! He is good news to the weak who need help and comfort. He is also bad news to those who take advantage of others and rely on their own strength.


I choose which side of the good news / bad news equation I fall. I definitely want Him coming to save me, not saving others from me.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Jesus, I need you. I am not sufficient in myself. I rest upon Your strength and trust in Your rescue. You’re all I need. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> Isaiah 36:1-22

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page