top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Healing Strikes

Daily Reading // Isaiah 19:1-25


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Isaiah 19:22 And the LORD will strike Egypt, He will strike and heal it; they will return to the LORD, and He will be entreated by them and heal them.

God will strike and heal Egypt.


When we think of a strike we think of a hit, or a labor march, or a mark against you. Three strikes and you’re out. We don’t usually think about healing. What if healing were to come through a strike? It is often true that difficult and even painful times end up being times of important spiritual healing or ‘reset’. There’s a great pair of verses in Psalm 119 that I have always loved. They go like this:


Psalms 119:67 (NKJV) Before I was afflicted I went astray, But now I keep Your word.

Psalms 119:71 (NKJV) It is good for me that I have been afflicted, That I may learn Your statutes.


Scripture further tells us those whom God loves He disciplines. Those are healing strikes. Could it be in my pain and discomfort today, especially related to this quarantine, there is healing? I believe there is.


Sometimes healing comes with a touch. Sometimes healing comes with a word. Sometimes healing comes with a strike.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Lord, heal me and heal our land, whatever it takes. I trust in Your healing.


Tomorrow’s reading -> Isaiah 20:1-6

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page