top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Heaven’s CCRs

Daily Reading // Psalm 15-17


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 15:1-5 (NKJV) 1 A Psalm of David. LORD, who may abide in Your tabernacle? Who may dwell in Your holy hill? 2 He who walks uprightly, And works righteousness, And speaks the truth in his heart; 3 He who does not backbite with his tongue, Nor does evil to his neighbor, Nor does he take up a reproach against his friend; 4 In whose eyes a vile person is despised, But he honors those who fear the LORD; He who swears to his own hurt and does not change; 5 He who does not put out his money at usury, Nor does he take a bribe against the innocent. He who does these things shall never be moved.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


I decided to use the entire psalm this morning since it is a short one.


I have often read this psalm, and other scriptures like it, looking for what characteristics would make me one who may dwell in His tabernacle, on His holy hill. I think that’s the primary way it should be used.


But this morning I considered it in a different way. This morning I used it to consider the neighborhood. If these requirements are true for me they are true for others also. If everyone on His holy hill is as described in these verses, what a great neighborhood that would be!

A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


When I moved into my current house we were given a set of CCR’s - Covenants, Conditions and Restrictions. If we want to live in this neighborhood we have to comply with the covenants, codes and restrictions.


Living in a place with CCR’s means you have already agreed to abide by certain standards. It may be a little self-limiting, but the result is a better neighborhood for all.


Imagine the neighborhood in heaven! The CCR’s are found in Psalm 15. And everyone lives by them not because they are forced to, but because it is a joy to live by them.


Jesus said ‘Love your neighbor as you love yourself’. Now we know why. It’s good practice for heaven’s CCR’s.

P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer

Father, You are preparing me - preparing us - for something amazing. I want to learn to be a good neighbor for my final move-in on Your holy mountain. Amen.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page