top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

His Loving Commandments

SCRIPTURE:

If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love.

‭‭John‬ ‭15:10‬ ‭NKJV‬‬


OBSERVATION:

It is easy to misinterpret this verse. It sounds like Jesus is giving a conditional promise - if you do this you will get that. If you keep my commands then you’ll get my love. I’ve read it that way.

He is not saying that at all. He is saying that His commands are an expression of His love. Each of His commands are for my good and out of His love for me. Keeping His commands releases the full extent of His love for me. His love is always available - it is in His commands. They are not duty but love.

It is not a condition. They are synonymous.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page