top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

How’s The View?

Daily Reading // Psalm 18-20


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 18:25-26 (NKJV) 25 With the merciful You will show Yourself merciful; With a blameless man You will show Yourself blameless; 26 With the pure You will show Yourself pure; And with the devious You will show Yourself shrewd.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


I have heard it said, “You can’t out-give God.” I think that’s true. God is far more generous than I could ever hope to be.


But that’s not all.


You can’t out-love God. No matter how much I may think I love others, God loves more. He even loves me more than I love myself.


You can’t out-sacrifice God. I may think I have it tough from time to time and I’m asked to sacrifice, but God has sacrificed far more than I ever will. Remember: Everything I have is a gift from Him. I deserve nothing. He deserves everything.


But also...


You can’t out-scheme God. To the devious He shows Himself shrewd. How many people think they can pull the wool over God’s eyes? How many have tried? How often have I tried? It is fruitless. I can never win in a battle of wits against God. I don’t even want to try.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


I think part of what these verses are saying is the best way for me to see the mercy of God is for me to be merciful to others. I will have a better understanding for and appreciation of what mercy really is.


The best way to see the blamelessness and purity of God is for me to pursue being blameless and pure.


I don’t really want to experience the shrewdness of God. That is a battle I can’t win. If I become devious with others, or with God, I will have to contend with the shrewdness of God. I don’t want to do that.


When I live a godly life I see God in a much fuller way. It’s like putting myself in a good vantage point. It’s like climbing a mountain and giving myself a view that few others get to see.

So... how’s the view?


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer

Jesus, I want to see You. Amen.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page