top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

I Don’t Get It

Jesus answered and said to him, “What I am doing you do not understand now, but you will know after this.” Peter said to Him, “You shall never wash my feet!” Jesus answered him, “If I do not wash you, you have no part with Me.”

‭‭John‬ ‭13‬:‭7‬-‭8‬ ‭NKJV‬‬


Peter did not understand what Jesus was doing. He couldn’t understand it and it made him uncomfortable. It seemed contradictory to what Peter thought should happen. Jesus basically said, ‘I know you don’t understand but submit anyway.’ That’s where trust comes in.


So, here’s the big question: Do I have to understand what Jesus is doing in order to submit to Him? Can I trust Him when it doesn’t seem to make sense? If so, that’s a problem.


If I have to understand and approve in order to go along, then He is not Lord. I am.


Things happen in life that I don’t understand. Do I trust Him or is my trust challenged?


I wonder if Peter was at all relieved to find out he didn’t have to understand, just submit. It is a relief to me. I don’t have to understand everything. Jesus knows what He’s doing.


Lord, My answer today is ‘yes’. Now, what’s the question? Amen.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page