top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

It Never Changes

Daily Reading // 2 John 1


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

2 John 1:5 (NKJV) And now I plead with you, lady, not as though I wrote a new commandment to you, but that which we have had from the beginning: that we love one another.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


The apostle John was with Jesus at the very beginning of His ministry. He sat next to Him at the last supper and he outran Peter to the empty tomb.


By this point he was ‘the elder’. He didn’t die from martyrdom as the other disciples did. But he was exiled on Patmos and severely persecuted.


He had seen it all. He was there through the birth of the church and it’s reach to distant locations. Now he is saying through all of that the message of the gospel and our response hasn’t changed at all. It’s the same thing now as it was in the very beginning. Love one another.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Things will change over time: Cultures, technologies, styles. But the gospel and the call of the gospel will never change. It is the same now as when Jesus walked the earth. Love one another.


For God so loved the world that He sent Jesus. God loves it when He sees us loving one another. Jesus loves it when I love others. He is grieved by my selfishness. He loves it when I love.


His call for me to love has never changed and will never change.


How can I ‘love one another’ today?


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, Show me ways to love today. Amen.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page