top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Jesus Is Lord

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 12:1-11


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.

REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 12:3 (NKJV) Therefore I make known to you that no one speaking by the Spirit of God calls Jesus accursed, and no one can say that Jesus is Lord except by the Holy Spirit.

There is something empowering about the declaration: “Jesus is Lord”. I think it would benefit me to make that statement, out loud, more often.

Jesus is Lord.


The phrase activates the power and presence of the Holy Spirit. The phrase keeps fears, doubts and anxieties at bay. The phrase aligns what I profess to be true with my thoughts, my plans and my actions.


Jesus is Lord.


Whatever situation I find myself in, good and bad, it is important to remind myself, Jesus is Lord. When it seems all hope is lost, Jesus is Lord. When I’m tempted to go down a road for personal gratification, Jesus is Lord. When I’m stuck on a decision that has to be made, Jesus is Lord. When I am in conflict with another person, Jesus is Lord.


Jesus is Lord.


Today we are in the midst of a global pandemic, suffering the divisiveness of a contentious political season, watching riots destroy our cities and now fires are turning homes and familiar landmarks to ash. Where is my comfort?


Jesus is Lord.


I can’t confess it enough. I trust in Him. Defer to Him. Hope in Him.


Jesus is Lord!

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Jesus, you are Lord. You are MY Lord. I look to You today and trust You for my tomorrows. Amen.


** SPECIAL PRAYER REQUEST TODAY **

Lord Jesus, I pray for those effected by fires throughout the state of Oregon today. I pray for Your grace and protection. As You say in Your Word, rescue those in need from the flames. I pray for the flames to stop advancing and to even retreat today. May there be many stories of Your miracle-working power. Amen!


Tomorrow’s reading -> 1 Corinthians 12:12-31

15 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page