top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Keeping It Simple

Daily Reading // Ruth 1-4


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Ruth 1:12-13 (NKJV) 12 “Turn back, my daughters, go--for I am too old to have a husband. If I should say I have hope, [if] I should have a husband tonight and should also bear sons, 13 “would you wait for them till they were grown? Would you restrain yourselves from having husbands? No, my daughters; for it grieves me very much for your sakes that the hand of the LORD has gone out against me!”

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


This part of Ruth’s story cannot be missed. When Naomi decided to return to her home both daughters determined to go with her, most likely to care for this older woman on a dangerous trip and difficult relocation.


But it didn’t make sense for them. There was no foreseeable way that they would get what they need out of the deal. The most imaginative best case scenario for them, Naomi getting a husband, didn’t even pencil out. It was hopeless.


Ruth determined to go anyway. Not because of anything she would get out of it, but just to do the right thing. Ruth was following Naomi into a dead end.


Little did she know that God would do more than they could ask, imagine or even think.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Sometimes we plan, strategize and predict God’s purposes for ourselves a little too much. “If I do this, God will do this...” Or “God wouldn’t want me to go without...”


Maybe like Ruth, decisions should be made solely on what’s the right thing to do, rather than pursue God’s route of greatest blessing.


One of the most fruitless activities we ever engage in is predicting our future, especially when God is involved.


Ruth shows us the purity of doing what is right rather than what will evoke a desired response. Trying to make decisions to elicit a certain response from God, or anyone else for that matter, is a recipe for confusion and frustration.


Just do what’s right. Period.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer

Lord, You have given me all I need to serve You. I can’t predict the future, so I’ll serve You with what I know. Amen.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page