top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Learn By Example

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 10:1-13


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.

REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 10:11 (NKJV) Now all these things happened to them as examples, and they were written for our admonition, upon whom the ends of the ages have come.

Everyone is an example. Everyone is a teacher. Some teach us what to do. Others teach us what not to do.


In school, when a teacher explained something it was often too difficult or abstract to grasp the description. Then any good teacher would take the next step which would make all the difference. The teacher would give an example. Once an example was given, I understood what I was supposed to do.


God has given us multiple examples in scripture. Some of those examples are good ones and some are bad ones. Honestly, some examples are not so clear as to whether they are good or bad. We have to be spiritually discerning.


God has given us multiple examples in scripture. What a shame if we don’t learn from those examples. God went through all the trouble to give us example after example. It means nothing if we don’t heed these examples.


Do I learn from on the examples, good and bad, given to me in scripture? How can I learn from them if I don’t read them and know them?


Like I said, everyone is an example, either good or bad. What kind of an example am I?

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


God, thank You for the great lengths You have taken so I might have examples. Give me wisdom to learn from the examples in scripture and all around me. Make me a positive example to others. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> 1 Corinthians 10:14-24

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page