top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Lift Your Eyes

Daily Reading // Psalm 120-121


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 121:1-2 (NKJV) 1 A Song of Ascents. I will lift up my eyes to the hills-- From whence comes my help? 2 My help comes from the LORD, Who made heaven and earth.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


As a ‘song of ascents’, this psalm was likely recited by individuals and families on their way to the Temple in Jerusalem for one of the annual celebrations. Jerusalem is on a series of hills. The Temple would have been the most visible structure on the hills.


Along the way you would just need to look up and be reminded of the purpose for your trip. When you saw the Temple, the place dreamed about by King David and built by King Solomon, you would be inspired to continue the upward climb.


Even when you were back in your hometown you could draw on that visual image in your memory and be encouraged on life’s journey.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


It’s too bad we don’t have a striking visual image like this one to inspire and remind us.


Life certainly has some uphill climbs. I am heading toward a destination even greater than the Temple. Keeping that in mind will certainly help me to keep putting one foot in front of the other.


The climb will be worth it! The journey will be worth it, when we come into His Presence. As the Apostle Paul said:


Philippians 3:14 (NKJV) I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.


Whatever upward steps I make today, He is my help!


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Father, Day by day and step by step I look to You for help, direction and inspiration. I won’t take my eyes off of You. Amen.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page