top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Light in the Darkness

Daily Reading // Psalm 111-113


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 112:4 (NKJV) Unto the upright there arises light in the darkness; He is gracious, and full of compassion, and righteous.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


The thing needed in darkness is light. A little light goes a long way in a time of darkness.


According to this verse, light is associated with righteousness, graciousness and compassion. Where these things are absent there is a spiritual, emotional, social darkness.


If you have your own light source, like a flashlight, you don’t have to worry about the darkness around you.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


As I read this passage I think about night training exercises when I was in the army. We were out in the field at night and were observing ‘light discipline’. No one was to turn on a light of any type.


When you’re in the dark with no light your eyes adjust to the darkness. Your pupils dilate and you have the ability to see somewhat into the darkness. As soon as a light hits your eyes your pupils restrict and you have ruined your ability to see and get around in the dark.


People are adjusting to the darkness all around them. Darkness is becoming the norm and it’s becoming the way people are used to seeing. Everything is shrouded in grey and darkness. They don’t want to see the light because it ruins their ability to live in their world of darkness.


We are to be people of the light and turn on lights wherever we go. I’m not going to adjust my vision to make the darkness around me okay. I’m going to turn on more light.


Light ruins you for darkness.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, In spite of the darkness around me shine Your light in me and through me. Amen.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page