top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Listen To The Bible!

SCRIPTURE:

A man devoid of understanding shakes hands in a pledge, And becomes surety for his friend.

‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭17:18‬ ‭NKJV‬‬


OBSERVATION:

Becoming surety is basically like co-signing for someone. If they default you make sure the debt will be paid. It may seem very generous to do it but it is not very wise.


APPLICATION:

This reminds me of a time when the Bible saved me a lot of money. As a young man in the army I had a steady paycheck a wife and a new baby with one more on the way. A friend wanted to buy an expensive sports car but didn’t have good credit. They said he needed a co-signer. I had good credit so he asked me. “It won’t cost you a thing since I won’t default.” I felt pressure but didn’t do it because of this verse. He got someone else to do it, later defaulted and cause all kinds of problems.

The Bible has practical wisdom for life!


PRAYER:

Jesus, You give wisdom by Your Word and Your Holy Spirit. Guide me today. Amen.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page