top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Make Good Choices

Afterward Jesus found him in the temple, and said to him, “See, you have been made well. Sin no more, lest a worse thing come upon you.”

‭‭John‬ ‭5‬:‭14‬ ‭NKJV‬‬


When Jesus healed this man, the man did what he wasn’t able to do for 38 years. He took up his bed and walked. Before this he needed help for everything. Now he was independent and mobile.


Among other things, that meant this man had new opportunities for sin. He could choose to use his new God-given abilities to sin or to serve God. For evil or for good.


Jesus’ words to him were a warning, not a threat. His new abilities could get him into a whole lot more trouble than he was able to get in before. Watch out! Make good choices with what you have been given.


This is true in my life. The more strength, authority, power, riches, relationships Jesus gives me the more aware I need to be of the potential for misuse and harm. Spider-Man says it this way, “With great power comes great responsibility.”


What am I doing with what Jesus has given me?


Jesus, Give me wisdom to use Your gifts in my life to honor You. Amen.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page