top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

No Greater Inheritance

Daily Reading // Joshua 11-15


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog

S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Joshua 13:14 (NKJV) Only to the tribe of Levi he had given no inheritance; the sacrifices of the LORD God of Israel made by fire are their inheritance, as He said to them.
Joshua 13:33 (NKJV) But to the tribe of Levi Moses had given no inheritance; the LORD God of Israel was their inheritance, as He had said to them.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


As God was allocating land to the tribes of Israel the tribe of Levi was treated differently.


Land was a pretty big deal. Having land meant having an ability to produce food and wealth. It also formed their inheritance to future generations. Of course along with that benefit was the hard work of the land.


If everyone was working the land, who would attend to maintaining the spiritual life of ministering to the Lord and to His people? The tribe of Levi was selected.


The tribe of Levi was the tribe of Moses and Aaron. They stood with Moses in the whole golden calf affair. They would become the priestly tribe.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Things are very different today. Ministers are able to own land. They are not just from a particular tribe. Because of Jesus everyone is to be a minister.


But the principle remains. Who do I rely on for my provision? My job or God? What inheritance do I want to pass on to my children? A pile of money or a life committed to serving God? These are very real questions that affect my decisions in life.


“The Lord God of Israel was their inheritance.” There is no greater inheritance than that!


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer

Lord, I want You as my inheritance. Receive me as Your minister. Work through me today. Amen.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inheritance

March 14, 2024

bottom of page