top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Not To Themselves

Daily Reading // 1 Peter 1-3


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

1 Peter 1:12 (NKJV) To them it was revealed that, not to themselves, but to us they were ministering the things which now have been reported to you through those who have preached the gospel to you by the Holy Spirit sent from heaven--things which angels desire to look into.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


This letter was written by Peter to believers. It was not evangelistic in nature but was for discipleship. The concern of the early church leaders was not just sharing the gospel but also leading those who accepted it into greater growth. I see that also in churches today.


Peter mentions the prophets of the Old Testament. He was talking about Moses, David, Isaiah, Daniel and others. They talked about Jesus, the Messiah. They were being used to minister to Peter and his generation, not their own. Their ministry was for hundreds, even thousands, of years into the future. People they would never even me.


Their audience, and now Peter’s audience, now includes me.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Am I willing to minister to people I may never even meet? Do I think about or care about people beyond my immediate social circle?


I just think about how unselfish this is. Many of the prophets and early disciples faced great persecution. Where would I be today without their message and their sacrifice?


What can I do to sew seeds of generosity for people who will never be able to pay me back?


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Lord, use my life to touch others, even those I will never meet. Amen.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page