top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Oh Taste and See

Daily Reading // Psalm 34:1-22


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Psalms 34:8 (NKJV) Oh, taste and see that the LORD [is] good; Blessed [is] the man [who] trusts in Him!

I have always like this phrase: “Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good.” It is descriptive and even somewhat poetic.


Oh taste and see that the Lord is good.


I never thought of it this way until this morning...


Whenever I taste something, especially something that I really love, that taste in my mouth is a reminder of God’s goodness. Food doesn’t have to taste good. It doesn’t have to be as enjoyable as it is. Yet it is. Why is it? Because the Lord is good.


Also, food tastes are so individual. Some people just love to eat foods that I don’t like at all. Others turn their nose up on food that I love to eat.


The individualism of tastes is another reminder of God’s goodness. He deals with each of us individually, not en masse but one-on-one.


Oh taste and see that the Lord is good.


A couple of weeks ago I was at EZ Orchards, a fresh fruit stand with an ice cream stand. I was there with my wife and part of our family. They were serving fresh peach milk shakes. I got one and shared it with my two-year old grandson. We share some of the same tastes, because he drank more of it than I did.


Drinking fresh peach milkshakes with family. Oh taste and see that the Lord is good!


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Good Father, You have given me so much. You show me Your goodness every day. Thank You for taste. It is a sweet gift from You. Amen.

Tomorrow’s reading -> Sabbath Reflection

22 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page