top of page
Search
Writer's picturePastor Jim

On Trial

Daily Reading // James 1-3


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading


James 1:6 (NKJV) But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


There is a difference between faith-asks and doubt-asks.


When I come to the Lord it is often with questions, because there is so much I don’t know. The motive and spirit of those questions can significantly different.


Some people ask questions in faith. These questions seek to find answers from a trusted source. Others ask questions from doubt. These questions are suspicious. They have yet to decide whether the source is reliable or not.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


I like crime shows. These shows are often concluded with a trial. In the trial the way questions are asked of an expert witness is much different than the questions asked of the accused. Questions to the expert witness are to establish fact and generally accepted. Questions to the defendant are weighed to determine their accuracy.


Do I come to God as an expert witness or with careful suspicion? Do I weigh His answers to determine whether or not I want to believe Him, or accept them as truth?


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Father, I trust You and Your Word without a doubt. Amen.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page