top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Only One Me

Daily Reading // Job 7-8


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Job 7:9-10 (ASV) 9 As the cloud is consumed and vanisheth away, So he that goeth down to Sheol shall come up no more. 10 He shall return no more to his house, Neither shall his place know him any more.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


I just had an amusing thought this morning. Think about Lazarus reading these words after Jesus brought him out of the tomb.


Lazarus would be sitting there eating his cereal and reading his Bible in the morning. Martha is already busy cleaning the house. They’re not quite sure where Mary is yet.


His Bible reading takes him to the book of Job and he reads these words. He stops chewing for a moment. Then he thinks about it.


“This verse is true of almost everyone except me. I did go to the grave. I was taken away by death. But I did return to my house. Here I am. Wow.”


Then he started chewing again.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


I know that’s a pretty extreme example, but it reminds me that I have to read the Bible for me. No one else can do that for me. I have to read scripture with my specific life and my own experiences in mind.


As I read I need to ask the question, “How does this apply to me. Not everyone else or generically, but to me. There’s only one me. God is saying something very unique and personal to me. What is it?”

You did not make me for death. You made me for life. I will live for You today, in my own way.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, because You died for me, death is not my end. Because of that, I can truly live. Amen.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page