top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Out of Context

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 7:17-24

READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.

READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.

REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 7:17 (NKJV) But as God has distributed to each one, as the Lord has called each one, so let him walk. And so I ordain in all the churches.

Here’s my big takeaway from this section of scripture: You can serve God in any context.


We often try to change our life context, our backdrop, so then we can really serve God. “When I’m out of school, then I’ll serve God.” “When I have a job...” “When I have a different job...” “When I have a ministry job...” “When I’m retired...” “When I’m married...” “When my kids are grown...” etc.


I can serve the Lord no matter what context I am in. Instead of looking for another context, I need to find how I can serve the Lord and live for Him in my current context. You don’t need to change it, Paul says to the Corinthians.

Even governmental context doesn’t have to be a certain way for me to serve the Lord. The government can be Christian-friendly and I can serve the Lord. The government can be Christian-hostile, and I can serve the Lord. The government can be godly, or wicked, or free, or restrictive and still I can serve the Lord.

We live in uncertain times. With an upcoming election and divisiveness like we’ve never seen before anything can happen. I don’t have to worry about the outcome. No matter what, there will be an opportunity for me to serve the Lord in any context. I get a great sense of relief from that truth.

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.

Father, Reconciler and redeemer. I pray for our nation today. We desperately need Your touch. Bring peace into places of unrest. Soothe hurts and calm fears. We need You today. Pour out Your Spirit and bring revival. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> 1 Corinthians 7:25-40

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page