top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Own Your Own Sin

Daily Reading // Job 19-20


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Job 19:3-4 (NKJV) 3 These ten times you have reproached me; You are not ashamed that you have wronged me. 4 And if indeed I have erred, My error remains with me.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


Job’s friends told Job he had sinned before God and that was the reason for his suffering. They said it over and over again.


They were wrong.


But that didn’t keep them from coming at him repeatedly.


Then Job told them they had made their point. If he was, in fact, in error before God then it was on him, not them. Job owned his own errors.

A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


I think we need to be willing to own our errors. If I have made a mistake, it is my fault and no one else’s. I can’t blame my friends, my family, my society or anyone else. I’ve got to own it.


Accountability is good. Having friends that will say the hard things is great. But no one can take the responsibility for someone else’s sins. That is a place where we all must stand, individually, before God.


My sins have a single owner. That’s me. Am I willing to own up to my own actions, like Job did?


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


God, You are gracious and merciful. You have paid the price for all my sin. How foolish for me to continue in them. “What shall we say the? Shall we continue in sin so grace will increase? By no means!” (Rom 6:1) Amen.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page