top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Praise Deficiency

Daily Reading // Psalms 30:1-12


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.

REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Psalms 30:9 (NKJV) What profit is there in my blood, When I go down to the pit? Will the dust praise You? Will it declare Your truth?

This is a beautiful psalm with phrases like, “Sorrow May last for a night but joy comes in the morning”, and “You’ve turned my mourning into dancing”. Beautiful.


In these words of the psalm David is making an interesting statement. He is saying, “It’s good for me to be alive rather than dead because alive I can make Your praise known on earth. Alive I can tell people how great You are.”


Do I advance the praise of God on earth? Do I declare His truth? Do more people hear about His greatness through my life, or would just as many hear about Him if I were gone?


David said, “What profit is there in my death?” Maybe I should ask, “What profit is there in my life?” How does my life profit God and His kingdom? What would be missing if I were gone?


David could say if he were gone there would be a praise deficiency. There would be less declaration of God’s truth. I would like to be able to say the same.

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Father, I praise You. Praise is the right response for all You do and all You have done. You cannot be overstated. I live to give You praise and to declare Your truth. Amen.

Tomorrow’s reading -> Sabbath Reflection

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page